Best way to lower my Buggy!

Chassis & Electrical. Ask a question, share your knowledge, build it right.

Moderator: Ken

Best way to lower my Buggy!

Postby Faron » 04 Tue Oct, 2005 10:36 pm

I am Faron and I live here in San Antonio. I started to build my first Buggy a little over a month ago. I want it to be a street buggy so I am looking to lower it both in the front as well as in the back. I have always wanted to build myself a car, and this is my first attempt to do so. So I am sure that I will have a ton of questions.
Thank you in advance,
Faron
Faron
Buggyholic

Postby David O' » 04 Tue Oct, 2005 10:41 pm

I can help with that, I know how all of that is done. You will need to fill in some information so that the answers can be correct. Like which beam do you have in the front, and how low do you think that you want to go. Which type of rear axle set up do you have and how low do you think that you want to go.
If at first you don't succeed, beat the pshaw out of the business partner, and then go at it alone! LOL!
David O'
Buggyholic

Postby greenmanx » 05 Wed Oct, 2005 8:51 am

Faron,
David is right, need more specifics like ball joint or link pin front? Swing axle or IRS rear? There are many ways to lower the front from an adjustable beam to modified spindles. The rear gets a bit more interesting.

By the way, pretty creative name there Dave...HAHA! :lol:
greenmanx

Postby Buggy1 » 05 Wed Oct, 2005 5:02 pm

One thing you should consider is the ride your looking for........if you want to lower the car and then be able to raise it for driving there are now air kits that allow the suspention to be lowered and raised.

I have a adjustable front end I got fron Aircooled Parts at a great price, but due to health reasons I have had no luck in the installation. I would definately remember that if your planning on driving your car. Some bugs have been lowered so much that they can not even jack em up to fix a flat.