new to building

General discussion area for Club members.

Moderator: Ken

new to building

Postby capmike » 14 Wed Jun, 2006 10:15 am

hey guys, im new to building buggys, my wife and i saw some of you guys in eureka over the weekend and fell in love with your buggys.After talking
it over we have decided to build one.Ive been a auto tech for 20+ years,
so that will help.any advice you guys can give would be much apreciated!
mike
capmike
Buggy Nut

Postby MURZ » 14 Wed Jun, 2006 11:03 am

Welcome to the group!!

My two cents... Buy a running beetle, IRS rear suspension, 69-up, in decent shape. Buy a prefabbed chassis. Buy a NEW buggy body. Budget for 7-8 k to build a nice one. Allow yourself at least 250 hours to do it right.

To sum it up.
NEW is better---chassis, body
Double your time estimate---trust me
Double your money estimate---trust me
Make sure you have a good understanding wife. ---TRUST me
and restating again...double your money estimate---Really a nice one will cost 8-10 grand

Good Luck. And remember.......

We will be here for you to counsel you with your addiction........

My name is Michael Murzi, and I have been "build free" for 77 days now......

member # 4267 Dune Buggy Anonymous

MURZ
Madisonville La
(Just north of where New Orleans used to be)

Dune buggies....Old men have to have something to excercise their minds and bodies
MURZ
Buggyholic

Postby Carlton Dollery » 14 Wed Jun, 2006 12:23 pm

Well you said a mouth full MURZ, and all of it true. I think the most important thing is the understanding wife. It took me 4 years and a sack full of cash, the last year with wife doubting that the car would ever see the pavement.

Good luck and welcome to the group.
Carlton Dollery
Buggy Driver

Postby David Head » 14 Wed Jun, 2006 2:01 pm